Direct Shipping of Wine to Pennsylvania
Internet Wine Purchases
Pennsylvania wine consumers may now purchase wine over the Internet from a licensed Direct Wine Shipper and have it shipped to the Wine & Spirits Store of their choice. Pennsylvania Wine & Spirits Stores locations and hours.
The law (Act 10 of 2002), which permits Internet ordering and direct shipments of wine, has certain restrictions:
Wine must be purchased from a licensed Direct Wine Shipper.
Only wines which are not available in Pennsylvania Wine & Spirits Stores may be purchased this way from the Direct Wine Shippers, Check the PLCB Product Catalog to determine if the product you are looking for is already offered by the PLCB.
Consumers may not purchase more than 9 liters per month from a single Direct Wine Shipper.
The Direct Wine Shipper will have a shipping charge, and must add a $4.50 handling fee, Pennsylvania's 18% liquor tax, 6% sales tax (and 2% sales tax in Philadelphia or 1% Allegheny counties).
Before you place your order...
Under the law, only wines that are not available in Pennsylvania may be purchased from a licensed Direct Wine Shipper via the Internet. The PLCB offers approximately 25,000 different wines through its Regular, Specialty, and Special Liquor Order (SLO) merchandise. Before going to a Direct Wine Shipper to order, please check our catalog using the Product Search first.
If you were unable to locate the product you were looking for...
Go to our list of Direct Wine Shippers. (Direct Shippers will be automatically added to the list as they receive their licenses.)
Follow the Direct Wine Shipper's instructions to complete your order. If you are unable to pick up the order in person, you may designate another person, who must also be at least 21 years of age, to pick up your order.
After you place your order, print a copy of the receipt and bring it to the store when picking up your order, as it will be required in order to receive your merchandise.
The PLCB will not maintain a list of the specific products each Direct Wine Shipper carries. Please use the Direct Wine Shippers website for a complete list of their products.
Receiving Your Order
When the product arrives at the Wine & Spirits Store you selected, the manager will call you to inform you of the order status. You will have 30 days from the day that you are notified to pick up your purchase.
When you or the person you designate, arrive at the store to pick up the merchandise, the store personnel will inspect the product with you, to ensure that your order is correct.
You (or your designee) will sign an affidavit stating that you are 21 or over and that the wine is for personal consumption.
Damaged or incorrect merchandise
When the order arrives at the store, the receiving personnel will inspect the order for damage/accuracy. Any problems will be noted, and store personnel will let you know about the problems when they notify you of the delivery. The PLCB is not responsible for any problems that occur prior to delivery, and any returns/adjustments must be arranged with the direct shipper.
If the damage occurs after the PLCB has received the merchandise, the PLCB will notify the customer. The PLCB will send a reimbursement check directly to the customer.
How to become a Direct Shipper.